15th Wickersham Award Ceremony, Honoring the Honorable Justice John Paul Stevens

The Law Library of Congress
requests the pleasure of your company
at the Friends of the Law Library of Congress'
15th Wickersham Award Ceremony

Wickersham Award Honoree
The Honorable Justice John Paul Stevens
Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States (Retired)


Blackstone Award Honoree
William C. Burton, Esq.
Founder and Chairman, Burton Awards Foundation
Partner, Sagat | Burton LLP

Monday, the 13th of June 2011
The Library of Congress
The Thomas Jefferson Building
Washington, DC 20540

Reception 11:30 a.m.
Luncheon 12:15 p.m.
Book Talk, “Jefferson‘s Library,” 2:00 p.m.

On display, “Te Nazareth Gheprint,” acquired through the generosity of Julie Chrystyn Opperman and in honor of her husband, Dwight Opperman.

Buy Annual Membership to Attend the Wickersham Award Ceremony

Button: to pay through Paypal

Learn more about membership options.

To pay by check

Make checks payable to:
Friends of the Law Library of Congress
Post Office Box 15231
Washington, DC 20003

Already a member?

RSVP for the Wickersham Award Ceremony by contacting:

Robert R. Newlen

Kimberly Zellars


Your annual membership at the $2,500 level in the Friends of the Law Library of Congress offers many unique opportunities:

  • Attendance at the Wickersham Award ceremony and Wickersham lunch on June 13, 2011 (seating is limited to 100 members)
  • Following the Wickersham ceremony, an invitation to attend a talk by Mark G. Dimunation, Chief of the Library of Congress’s Rare Book and Special Collections Division, on “Jefferson‘s Library”
  • Recognition in the Wickersham program and on the Friends of the Law Library of Congress website
  • Invitations to an engaging array of Friends and Law Library of Congress programs and events throughout the year
  • Opportunity to network and socialize with leaders in the global legal community at Friends and Law Library programs and events
  • Complimentary copy of the Illustrated Guide to the Law Library of Congress and other Law Library of Congress publications
  • Behind-the-scenes tour of the Law Library of Congress
  • Exclusive series of curator presentation highlighting Law Library treasures, rare books, and ephemera

Buy Annual Membership

Button: to pay through Paypal

The Friends Sponsor-level membership at $10,000 includes all of the above benefits as well as the following:

  • Attendance for four guests at the Wickersham Award ceremony lunch
  • Recognition of your membership at the Wickersham ceremony
  • A full-page announcement in the Wickersham Award ceremony program
  • A private, customized tour of the Law Library of Congress

To become a sponsor-level member, please send your check to:
Friends of the Law Library of Congress • Post Office Box 15231 • Washington, DC 20003

The Law Library of Congress

The Law Library of Congress serves the Congress by providing it with authoritative and authentic information and analysis on all legal systems of the world. Established by an act of Congress in 1832, the Law Library contains the world’s largest collection of law books and legal resources from most of the world’s jurisdictions.

In addition to providing services to the Congress, the Law Library makes its resources available to the Supreme Court, other branches of the U.S. government, the global legal community, journalists, practicing lawyers, as well as curious and concerned citizens. Foreign and U.S. trained attorneys, law librarians, legislative historians, and linguists respond to inquires related to U.S., foreign, comparative, and international legal and legislative research.

The Law Library also provides service to the public in Congress’ name. The Law Library responds to all questions related to THOMAS which makes federal legislative information freely available to the American public. Law Library service also includes providing free and updated legal information to America’s small businesses, and state and local governments.

For more information on the Law Library and to access THOMAS, online databases, and guides to legal information worldwide visit the Law Library of Congress.

The Friends of the Law Library of Congress

Founded in 1932 by U.S. Attorney General George W. Wickersham, the Friends of the Law Library of Congress is a nonprofit organization created to encourage awareness and support for the Law Library of Congress, contribute to its collections, and sponsor programs that promote a better understanding of the law. The Friends are a vibrant group of supporters of the Law Library who seek to stimulate interest and expand awareness of the world’s largest, most comprehensive collection of legal information. Through the Friends’ efforts to raise funds and other forms of support, the Law Library is able to augment its unique collections, provide services to a wide range of constituents and offer programs that contribute to the furtherance of law and legal understanding globally.

  • The Wickersham Award

    Established in 1996, the Wickersham Award recognizes a distinguished individual who has made a significant contribution to the legal profession. This annual Award honors the founder of the Friends of the Law Library, George W. Wickersham. Previous recipients of the Wickersham Award include:

    • Harold Hongju Koh
    • Sandra Day O’Connor
    • Patricia Wald
    • Dwight D. Opperman
    • George Mitchell
    • Charles F.C. Ruff
    • Jamie Gorelick
    • Talbot D’Alemberte
    • Lloyd Cutler
    • William T. Colman
    • William J. Brennan
    • James A. Baker III
    • Louis Auchincloss
  • The Blackstone Award

    The Blackstone Award is named for Sir William Blackstone (1723–1780), the English jurist and politician whose great work, Commentaries on the Laws of England, transformed the study of the common law. Awarded for the first time in 2011, the Friends Blackstone Award recognizes and acknowledges a significant contribution to the mission and activities of the Law Library of Congress.

The Friends of the Law Library of Congress
2011 Board of Directors

  • Chuck Verrill, President
  • Elizabeth Andersen
  • Michael Greco
  • Emily Rae
  • Kim Phan, Treasurer
  • Geoff Anderson
  • Billie Jo Kaufman
  • Anne W. Salladin

Roberta I. Shaffer, Ex-Officio, The Law Librarian of Congress

Robert R. Newlen, Ex-Officio, Assistant Law Librarian of Congress for Collections, Outreach and Services